Go Back   Download Forums > Website Support > Other Questions / Suggestions

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-24-2008, 05:03 AM
Meskhenet Meskhenet is offline
Pawn
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Default Dear site owner or staff

Dear site owner or staff.

I'm not sure if you know me or not. But that doesnt matter, what does matter is that I recieve clarification on something.

I recently recieved a notice from paypal that I was charged 19.99 USD on Sept. 22nd 2008 for a subscription to a "Hylia Media Group Inc." and that their paypal account was "paypal@thehylia.com" I went to the Website The Hylia: A Zelda Fansite and a user on the forums directed me here.Which is why I am here, the 19.99 USD is an illegal transaction as I did not authorize it nor was I ever online the day the transaction was made nor have I ever registered for this site at all untill now to figure out what is going on.

I'm not sure if either this site and "Hylia Media Group Inc." are in anyway related but well this is my money I'm talking about and I'm gonna find who charged me. So any support is appreciated, if anyone(including staff) donated or purchased something for or from this website using my email (I'm not sure if you can see it or not, if not pm me or something) please notify me.

I've already contacted my bank, paypal as well as GoDaddy.com to stop the transaction and/or investigate this issue but I cant just sit back and wait for them to do their jobs.

Last edited by Meskhenet : 09-24-2008 at 05:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-24-2008, 08:42 AM
Edmunds's Avatar
Edmunds Edmunds is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 19,347
Default

Giving me your name or email address used for paypal might be a start O_o Send me a private message.

The websites you donated for could be either http://anime.thehylia.com or http://downloads.khinsider.com If you do not recognize any of these websites, and you have never been on this website (FFDownloads.com) then somebody has unauthorized access to your credit card.

Paypal is a system that protects the buyer. I cannot make an unauthorized charge to a credit card, its simply impossible, as I never even have access to credit card details, and there is no "bill this guy again" button. In fact, I can't charge a credit card through paypal PERIOD, as a seller I don't have an option to enter credit card details and charge a card.

If somebody has gained unauthorized access to your credit card, the only foolproof solution is to call your bank to cancel it and get a new one. You might want to check up with people close to you first though.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-10-2008, 01:00 AM
AMOE AMOE is offline
Pawn
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Default

I have the exact same problem, except that it wasn't on september 22nd, it was on October 9th, today actually.

I never seen any of the sites in the links you provided, and never came to this website either, so I have even less of a chance to have registerred or payed or did anything that could have me give money away.


what happenned is that I got a pop up from msn telling me that I had received an e-mail from paypal, which I've checked. It told me that apparently, I had sent a payment of 19.99$ USD to the same adress as was mentionned earlier, "paypal@thehylia" and well, googling that "Hylia Media Group Inc." that they have identified themselves as didn't give me much, except from the info to get here thanks to the topic creator's message on the other board he mentionned. I then got here and well, made this account so that I could mention the same thing.

I will now send you a pm (to the admin) and I really want to know what the hell happenned, because if it has happenned to someone else than I, then it is likely to happen again, if it hasn't already (from september 22nd to today, october 9th) and might keep going until it is stopped.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-10-2008, 02:32 PM
Dragonlady's Avatar
Dragonlady Dragonlady is offline
Administrator and Guardian Dragon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: in my own little world
Posts: 2,251
Send a message via Yahoo to Dragonlady
Default

As Edmunds said... there's no way that we can charge you ourselves. It has to be done by someone with access to your paypal account or credit card/banking account. So you should ask those in your household first if they know anything about it and call your bank to cancel the transaction.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-10-2008, 06:09 PM
williamscheefjr williamscheefjr is offline
Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 181
Default

those could be spoof emails you might want to verify. Also the mods are right paypal doesnt give out the info of the credit cards to others thats why they are much safer to go through. So this site cant have charged you unless someone you know or have given info to has used your card. I suppose their is a SMALL chance that someone from paypal did it, I mean its highly unlikely but yah it could of happend.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 08:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.0.0
foot
The Hylia Copyright